Gov. Sanwo-Olu, Runsewe, Jemi-Alade Others Bag Tourism Awards


Posted by JUSTOURS

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Director General of the National Council of Arts and Culture (NCAC), Otunba Segun Runsewe, and Conservator-General, Dr. Mohammed Goni as well as Prince Adeyanju Lipede, Sterling Bank and other high profile personalities in the country, have emerged winners at the fourth edition of Nigeria Tourism Awards.

The winners of the fourth edition of Nigeria Tourism Awards were announced in a virtual event on February 6, 2021. Nigeria Tourism Awards, also known as The Balearica Awards, named and designed after the Crowned Crane, which was once voted the national bird of Nigeria, has held for the previous three years at the luxury Federal Palace Hotel.

The organisers however switched to a virtual event for this edition due to the rising Covid-19 cases in Nigeria. The organisers said it was also the first time that the winners of the awards were determined by a new scoring process. The potential winners were judged and scored on the set criteria for their category.

For the previous editions, the winners were determined via public nominations and online voting. The number of awards was also increased from 24 to 44 for this edition to cover the diverse nature of the tourism industry.

According to the CEO of the awards, Efetobo Awhana, “2020 was indeed a difficult year for every practitioner in the tourism industry. Nigeria Tourism Awards 2020 recognises those tourism firms and individuals who have gone out of their way to boost domestic tourism whilst Covid-19 ravaged the world.”

He said, “The most anticipated categories for 2020 went to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Best Tourism Governor), Otunba Segun Runsewe (Tourism Personality of the Year), Dr Adebisi Obawale (Best Tourism Commissioner), Alado of Ado Awaye, HRM Oba Ademola Folakanmi (Royal Support for Tourism), and Omotoke Fatoki (Young Tourism Personality of the Year). Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Chief Mike Amachree and Mr. Jemi Alade.

There were also special recognition awards for Hon. Rotimi Amaechi (Tourism Infrastructure); Conservator-General of National Park Service, Dr. Ibrahim Goni (Essential Duties); Prince Adeyanju Lipede (Tourism Investment) and Sterling Bank (Tourism Support).

Others who received the individual awards include the National President of NANTA, Mrs. Susan Akporiaye; National President of ATBOWATON, Mr. Ganiyu Tarzan Balogun; MD of Sprints Travels, Mrs. Bunmi Aremu; MD of Aviator Travels, Mrs Tinuke Nwakohu; MD of Traveltron, Mrs. Bimbo Durosinmi-Etti; DG of CRIMMD, Dr Raphael James and the Director General, NTDC, Mr. Folorunsho Coker.

Leave A Reply