Emenike,Seriki, Ishola Others Make Latest Ambassadorial Posting


Nigeria’s Ambassador to Ireland,  Dr. Uzoma Emenike, has been posted as the country’s new envoy to the United States, according to new postings approved by President Muhammadu Buhari. M.I. Bashir will serve as deputy ambassador.

 Buhari also approved the posting of a former Minister of State for Defence, Demola Seriki, to Spain as the country’s Ambassador, while sending former Minister of Mines and Steel, Sarafat Ishola, as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

The Editor-in-Chief of The Guardian, Debo Adesina, will serve as the Ambassador to Togo.

There are 52 non-career envoys posted out by the President and 43 career ambassadors based on the confirmed list from the Senate. About 11 ambassadors were re-appointed but eight were retained in their current countries of posting while three others were redeployed.

The list shows that the eight ambassadors that will remain at their duty posts include:  Mohammed Rimi (United Arab Emirates), Jidda Baba (China), Gani Bura (Lebanon), Yusuf Tuggar (Germany), Baba Madugu (Switzerland) and Deborah Illiya (Congo).

Ambassador Tijani Muhammmad-Bande will also retain his position as the Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York while Adeyinka Asekun will remain the High Commissioner to Canada.

According to the list, Modupe Irele, Nigeria’s current Ambassador to France, is to proceed to Hungary as  Eniola Ajayi, the Ambassador to Hungary will be going to the Netherlands.

Ms Ijeoma Chineyerem will be going to Ireland while Oma Djebah will be posted to Thailand.

Other non-career envoys here include Abdulahi Shehu (Russia), Haruna Manta (South Africa), Kayode Laro (France), Paul Adikwu (The Vatican), Abubakar Moriki (Japan), Mrs. Opunimi Akinkugbe (Greece) and Ali Magashi (South Korea)

Other postings include M.O. Abam (Italy), N.A. Kolo (Israel), A. Sule (India), G.Y. Hamza (Ghana), A.N. Madubike (Australia) and O.C Onowu (Belgium).

The remaining appointees will be expected to serve as deputy ambassadors or heads of mission.

The following will serves as deputy envoys or heads of mission: A.E. Alleboy (Deputy Ambassador to France), G.E. Edokpa (Deputy Permanent Representative to The UN), Ben Okoyen (Cuba), G.M. Okeke (Deputy Head of Mission to Switzerland),  S.Sani to London, (Deputy High Commissioner to UK), I.A Iwejuo (Ethiopia as Deputy Ambassador), I.A. Alatishe (Deputy Ambassador to Russia) and I.R. Ocheni (Germany).

Leave A Reply