Coronavirus: More European Countries Affected by US Travel Restrictions

Coronavirus has raised  a host of difficult immigration issues for ost countries around the world. United States President Donald Trump has placed  coronavirus travel ban on 26 European countries recently.  In an effort to slow the spread of coronavirus, the White House has expanded travel restrictions to include the U.K. and Ireland, Travelweekly reported.

Starting Monday at midnight, no U.K. or Ireland citizens will be permitted to fly to the U.S. American citizens and green card holders are allowed to return to the U.S., but they must land at one of 13 airports for health screening.

At a White House news conference on Saturday, President Donald Trump said, “If you don’t have to travel, I wouldn’t do it.” The U.S. on Friday began limiting travel from 28 countries in continental Europe.

Trump indicated Saturday that domestic travel restrictions are a possibility.

U.S. Travel Association president and CEO Roger Dow responded to the U.K.-Ireland restriction.

“The public’s health and safety is priority No. 1, and we hope the aggressive steps taken by the federal government succeed in putting the moment of greatest concern behind us,” Dow said. “Hearing of the need to further expand travel restrictions — especially the inclusion of our No. 1 overseas source market, the U.K. — is obviously not the development the U.S. travel industry was hoping for.

“Aggressive steps will also be needed to address the health of the U.S. economy, the small businesses that make up 83% of all U.S. travel employers, and the 15.8 million travel-supported jobs that are going to feel a catastrophic impact from coronavirus.” The travel ban did not go down well  as “EU leaders accusing him of making the decision “without consultation”.